Aliexpress knockoffs

Hello everyone,

This is my first time writing here but I think I should due to the importance of the topic. Not long ago I came across on Aliexpress with a design I created and I sell on Tindie. This outraged me as it is my design and while it is true that have uploaded it to different electronic-related websites, it is under a Creative Commons license (Attribution-Non-Commercial-Sharealike) so no one can benefit from selling my design. This is my design and this is what they are selling. They do not mind copying exactly as it is.

Aliexpress knock off

My design

I contacted Aliexpress but they told me to file a report through their Intelectual Property platform they ask for a patent number, something that I don’t have and I guess most of the people who sell here don’t have either as we (mostly) aren’t professional seller, just hobbyists that want to share or give away their stock.

So, I haven’t found a way to report that product on Aliexpress and the worst thing is that such “Company/seller” is also copying another PCB Designs that I have seen here on Tindie. Please check the following links because I think many of you might have seen the same designs as me here.

Guitar

Little bug

I am posting this to see if anyone knows what to do or at least to let you know what is happening.

Many thanks for your help.

3 Likes

Never release the gerber files, and even if you don’t, the PCB manufacturer has them. Are you certain they didn’t distribute them? (if it is an exact duplicate I would be suspicious of the PCB company)

There is really nothing you can do. It happens to everyone.
(that is, if the product is worth copying)

I see that your name was printed in the silkscreen layer but they removed it.
I would report the video to youtube (if it is on youtube). They love to take down videos regardless of proof. At least the hacker won’t have a video to promote.